This Week’s Challenges

Alright, its monday, which means its time for a new batch of challenges, and I’m really excited. This week I’ll be breaking out the sewing machine for my first big sewing project, and baking a cheesecake (if I can get a spring-form…) for my father’s birthday.

Craft Challenge #3: Shirt Skirt

Cute, right? All I need to do is pick up some elastic and swing by the Goodwill and snag an oversized button-down shirt, which are both pretty darn cheap. I’m really excited to start on this! Now I just have to work on some cute top to go with it!

I’m going to be in New York in a few weeks on a school trip and this just screams high fashion to me, I can’t wait to be walking around in this and some cute heels in Times Square.

Culinary Challenge #2:

Now, I am very torn as to which sort of cheesecake I want to make (if the goodwill gods grant me a spring-form pan in the next two weeks…) so I will leave it up to you guys to help me decide!

And here are our current contenders:

On the left we have our White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake, and on our right the strawberry graham cracker cheesecake.

Both look ridiculous, right? Please, please, please leave a comment and help me make a decision!

Well that is all that I have for you right now, I’ll post links to the recipes and the tutorials at the bottom of the post

Thanks for reading!

-Korbe

Links:

strawberry Cheesecake:
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Strawberry-Cheesecake/Detail.aspx
White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake:
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/White-Chocolate-Raspberry-Cheesecake/Detail.aspx
Shirt Skirt:
http://fashionindie.com/diy-the-shirt-skirt/

8 responses to “This Week’s Challenges

  1. I’ve seen these shirt skirts around town here. Very clever. Would you like to borrow my spring form pan?? I got mine at Target for under $10. Good luck!

  2. I love that skirt a whole lot. And I vote strawberry graham cheesecake because strawberries > raspberries and graham crackers > everything. =) Here is a wonderful recipe for homemade graham crackers if you really want to get ridiculous. ‘Tis one of my two favorite cooking blogs.
    http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/05/graham-crackers/

    • those look awesome Susan! I think that I may save the strawberry one for either next week if not the week after so that I can do the graham cracker crust from scratch… because that sounds like a lot of fun, and my dad wants the white chocolate raspberry cheesecake for his party.

      Btw, because you are the one who gave me link, that means you are entitled to a slice of the cheesecake whenever I get around to making it, and even being my baking buddy for that project if you want ^.^

  3. Definitely the strawberry one! And the shirt skirt is awesome! Seriously! Where do you come up with these ideas?? SO great!

    • I mostly get them from other blogs, I have a list of bookmarks in my computer for projects that interest me *regardless of whether not I have the tools/skill to make them yet* and I’m slowly working through them ^.^
      I try to remember to post a link at the bottom so people know where I get the links and can try the projects for themselves

  4. I would adore the skirt if the sleeves didn’t still have the cuffs on. I dunno, sew the cuffs on as pockets, maybe?

    • hm… I like the cuffs, but I also like the possibility of pockets…. we will have to see what the shirt I buy ends up looking like before I make a final decision…

Leave a Reply

