pincushions, cookies, and… bears? oh my!

Its Monday, and that means that it is time for a new Craft Challenge!
Since I still have quite a bit of reading to do in my sewing machine manual before I tackle a real sewing project, I figured I’d do something that would assist me in my sewing endeavors from here on out.

Whilst digging through my mom’s old sewing basket I stumbled upon her “pin cushion” which resembled a dusty old patchwork quilt, complete with faded floral designs on navy blue and grey patches. The wicker basket my mother kept her craft supplies in had not protected it well from the elements; time had faded the designs and the ghastly arizona heat had dried the fabric to its breaking point.
So when I stumbled upon this little picture I just about fell in love.
Cute, right? I found the link to the tutorial in the Threadbanger Blog Archives, but the link to the tutorial will be at the bottom of the post.

I was pleased to find that I had enough fabric left over from the curtains my mother made for my bedroom a few years back to make a matching pincushion. I have until next monday to finish this project, I’ll keep you posted!

Update on the baking project:

Last night I attempted to make the Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies that I linked to in last monday’s post. However, my mother asked me to use up the rest of the store-bought sugar cookie mix that she had purchased a few months back before I baked any from scratch. The box had two different recipes on the back, one for drop cookies and one for cut-out. I followed the cut-out cookie recipe, thinking that it would be the most appropriate for my cookies.
I mixed up the ingredients, chilled them for a bit, and tried to roll half of the dough out, but it wouldn’t hold its shape at all. I was finally able to get everything flat enough and sprinkled on the brown sugar and cinnamon, but I couldn’t roll it into a log. I ended up with this giant crumbly mess of dough and spices that I couldn’t even ball up into drop cookies!

Sounds like a disaster, right?
I scrapped that half of the dough since I couldn’t really salvage it after I’d added the cinnamon&brown-sugar and turned to the remaining half to try and make it work.
I’m going to tell you right now that despite what you might think, adding butter to really crumbly store-bought dough doesn’t really save it. So after trying to patch the dough with 1/3 cup butter, I just decided to add a bunch of brown sugar and cinnamon for cinna-swirl drop cookies.
They didn’t look like pinwheels, but they tasted yummy, so that was awesome.

Links:

http://www.purlbee.com/very-easy-pincushions/

http://picky-palate.com/2010/02/11/cinnamon-roll-sugar-cookies-yes/

Thanks for reading you guys! Check back tomorrow to find out how the real *from scratch* cookies worked out!

-Korbe

2 responses to “pincushions, cookies, and… bears? oh my!

  1. I might take this challenge with you and make myself a pin cushion. I don’t have one. I use an old Altoid tin to keep my pins in!!

    • hey, whatever works ^.^
      I’m excited, the project is easy enough, its just a matter of doing it! I tried doing it a few weeks ago before I started the blog, but I didn’t have the right thread and it kept on breaking.. Now that I have embroidery thread it should work though!

Leave a Reply

