Craft Challenge #1: Fingerless Gloves

Alright, well it is monday the fifteenth of February and, as promised, I am starting my first set of challenges.

Craft Challenge: Fingerless gloves

Yesterday, I finished a scarf that I learned to make from the following threadbanger tutorial:

After I was finished, I wanted to make some matching wrist warmers/fingerless mittens, but since I’m a knitting novice I devised a plan to make my own using the stitches I already have learned.

So, I have two weeks to knit the button-up fingerless mittens that match this scarf
pidgescarf ohcanada2009 threadbanger

The Plan:
knit a long rectangular piece that goes from my knuckles to roughly mid-forearm, leaving a hole for the thumb (using the same technique for button holes) and ending in a series of 4-5 buttons that will close the “glove” around my arm.
Photobucket
What do you think? I don’t see any major flaws in the design, but if you do, please let me know!

Note: I’m still looking for a good baking project, I’m thinking about these Cinnamon Roll Cookies from Picky Palate
http://picky-palate.com/2010/02/11/cinnamon-roll-sugar-cookies-yes/
Yes? No? Leave a comment telling me what you think!

7 responses to “Craft Challenge #1: Fingerless Gloves

  1. Great ideas, Korbe! I have made fingerless gloves but without the buttons. Let me know how it goes. Also . . . when you get to the cinnamon rolls . . . I’m an expert taster!!
    Hugz!

    • Hey, you pay for shipping and they are yours Mr. Hansen ^.^ I’ll even send the glaze in a separate container so they don’t get soggy in transit 😛

  2. I’m kinda diggin the scarf! I wish it were a wee bit longer, but that’s me.

    ❤

    • yeah, I think that’ll be the case with the next one, but it can’t be too long or it doesn’t work right with the buttons. I’m thinking about possibly making them to sell, but in the meantime I want a few of my own, I’m kinda leaning toward a fluorescent orange colored one next >.<

  3. I want a pair of these gloves Korbe!

  4. Hmmmm….cookies…I just might steal that idea from you. They look to die for!
    As someone who has made cinniman rolls before…I would melt the butter and spread it on with a pastry brush (also known as a 1′ paint brush)
    The gloves look like fun. Kind of makes me wish I could knit…kind of.
    Thanks for leting me know about you blog! I’ll be checking back lots!

Leave a Reply

